Eight new cities created in honour of Queen Elizabeth II.

Written by on May 20, 2022

Eight new cities are being created for the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee, with at least one in every United Kingdom nation – and on the Falkland Islands and Isle of Man.

Report says that Milton Keynes in England, Dunfermline in Scotland, Bangor in Northern Ireland and Wrexham in Wales all get the title.

It is a first for places in an Overseas Territory – Stanley, in the Falklands – and a crown dependency – Douglas, in the Isle of Man – to win city status.

Colchester and Doncaster complete the list by getting the royal honour, which report had it that applicants had to show their cultural heritage and royal links.

Kevin Madu

Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track



%d bloggers like this: