Kaduna State Governor Mallam Nasir Ahmed El-rufai reshuffles Cabinet.

Written by on October 12, 2021

Kaduna State Governor, Malam Nasir Ahmed el-Rufai in a move to reposition his administration for better results delivery has announced a cabinet reshuffle.

Under the new cabinet, eight of the 14 commissioners swapped portfolios with no changes in the Ministries of Finance, Justice, Health, Housing & Urban Development, Internal Security & Home Affairs and Human Services & Social Development.

A statement signed by the Special Adviser to the Governor on Media & Communication, Muyiwa Adekeye said the cabinet reshuffle saw the return of the Chief of Staff, Muhammad Sani Abdullahi back to the Ministry of Planning & Budget Commission, which he held during el-Rufai’s first term.

The statement said further that following the passage of the law creating metropolitan authorities to manage Kaduna, Kafanchan and Zaria as organic cities, the governor has nominated cabinet-rank administrators in the persons of: Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa as Administrator for Zaria Metropolitan Authority, Muhammad Hafiz Bayero, Administrator, Kaduna Capital Territory and Phoebe Sukai Yayi, Administrator, Kafanchan Municipal Authority, respectively.

The governor has also announced the appointments of Professor Mohammed Sani as Chairman of the Local Government Service Board; Muhammed Muazu Muqaddas as Executive Secretary, State Emergency Management Authority (SEMA) and Dr. Shuaibu Shehu Aliyu as Permanent Secretary.

The new portfolios for the commissioners reassigned are: Jaafaru Sani, moved from Local Government to Environment, Thomas Gyang, from Planning and Budget Commission to Ministry of Public Works and Infrastructure, while Dr. Shehu Usman Muhammad, formerly Ministry for Education, now that of Local Government and was replaced by Halima Lawal, formerly Agriculture, among others.

Former Chairman of the Local Government Service Board, Dr. Ishaya Sarki Habu, Aminu Yusuf Musa, Engineer Rabiu Tanko and Rebecca Nnawo Barde were nominated as new members of the Legislative Service Commission. While Aliyu Saidu, former DG-KADCHMA and Lawal Jibrin, former GM – KEPA, were relieved of their appointments.

Ango Bally


Reader's opinions

Leave a Reply

Current track



%d bloggers like this: